Sunday Update: I Love Yarn Day!

This isn’t quite a gauge check, but I have something yarny to talk about!

Friday was the second annual I Love Yarn Day, so I celebrated by finding a project, winding yarn, and casting on.  The yarn in question was two colors of Tosh Merino Light in Glazed Pecan and Earl Grey, the project is the (brand new!) shawl Mormorio by Heather Zoppetti, which I am calling the Afternoon Tea Mormorio.

Madtosh is just as wonderful to knit with as I expected it would be.

I came to the realization recently that my gauge has changed from when I started knitting.  I used to be an incredibly tight knitter, to the point where I knit socks on US2 (3 mm) needles.  Lately, though, my tension has relaxed considerably.  I can no longer automatically go up a needle size and get gauge, and I discovered that I really do need to knit socks using a US1 (2.5 mm).  Problem was, I only have one US1 needle, and it’s got something on it.

So yesterday I went down to Pearl Fiber Arts and picked up an Addi Turbo Lace and a Hiya Hiya Sharp (and a skein of Dream in Color Merino/Silk sock yarn).  I like to have three sock-size needles available –  not that I ever have three socks on the go at the same time, but… reasons.

(One reason being that I’m designing a sock and I don’t necessarily want to have it interfering with actual knitting.)

Did you do anything awesome for I Love Yarn day?

~ by Amber on October 14, 2012.

Join in the discussion!

 
