Friday Gauge Check: Welcome to August

A month from now, the move will be complete.

That’s both relieving and terrifying.  Relieving, because there is an end in sight to the chaos and stress.  Terrifying, because there’s so much uncertainty.  I feel very strongly as if I’m on the right path, and everything will work out, but it’s still nerve-wracking.

I went through my book collection and weeded out a lot of it.  Because of my e-reader, I don’t need to have (and therefore move) paper copies of everything.  I also got rid of books that I hadn’t re-read in many years.  These days, I don’t do much re-reading; there’s too much new stuff to catch my attention.  I selected a few precious volumes, each emblematic of the things I love about my favorite authors, rather than the obsessively complete collection I had before.  If I do end up re-reading a book, it’s much more likely to be one of these.

Unrelated to moving, I successfully finished the Emily Shawlette.  I still need to wash and block it, but it turned out well and I’m very pleased with it.  The December Little Shawl has also gotten quite a bit of attention – I’m knitting the last cake, so finishing is in the near future.  This afternoon I finally started on the leg of the first Scottish Boxes sock.  It’s taking me so long because I just don’t like the yarn, and the pattern is fairly tedious and therefore easy to lose track and screw up, which requires tinking back.

Since I’m incapable of just finishing a project and not immediately casting on another one (I tried, guys; I was twitching within hours), I cast on the Swan Maiden Mitts.  These will be a gift for a friend, and they’re knitting up quickly and look beautiful.

Next week, I need to pay special attention to my UFO (unfinished objects) bin.  My goal is to have all my hibernating projects either frogged or completed by the time we move.

This is yet another short post; sorry I’ve been so absent lately.  There’s just a lot going on, and I’m not quite ready to talk about it yet.

Take care, you guys.

~ by Amber on August 5, 2011.

Join in the discussion!

 
