Friday Gauge Check: End of July Already?

Well, this has been an exciting week.  Remember how I said that today should be my last day at work?  Okay, it was.  But it was touch-and-go for a while there.  Monday, the department manager called me in and asked if I’d be willing to switch to a different project starting the next Monday, to last into October.  I discussed it with Jack, and on Tuesday I let him know I’d be willing to stay.  However, he was told that he wasn’t able to bring a temp onto this highly confidential project.  He told me he was going to fight it, but I didn’t find out for certain that the decision would stand until Thursday evening.  All in all, it was a long and anxious week. Having everything up in the air was incredibly stressful, even if nothing ended up changing in the end.

We gave notice on our apartment today, so it’s official: we’re moving at the end of August.  Now comes the more focused work of getting everything ready to go, selling off the furniture, cleaning, and packing ALL THE THINGS.  I’ve also got some commissions I want to get finished before I move, and some craft projects I want to actually try before I decide to move the supplies.

I’m officially halfway through the December Little Shawl (finished the first skein, about to start on the second), I’m about to start the final chart of the Emily shawlette, and I’ve finished the foot on the first Scottish Boxes sock.  Now I have to open the foot up and work on the leg.

Tour de Fleece is over, but I’ve still managed to spin nearly every night this week.  It’s ingrained enough that it doesn’t feel right to go to bed without sitting down at my wheel first.  I’m still working through the hand-dyed blue wool, still loving the way it looks.

That’s about it for this week.  Having the uncertainty hanging over my head has just kept me from getting much of anything done.  Hopefully next week will be better.

~ by Amber on July 29, 2011.

Join in the discussion!

 
