Friday Gauge Check: Blue Fiber Edition

Happy Friday!  As you can probably guess, I finished the merino-silk blend. I Navajo-plied it, and it turned out to be about 135 yards of heavy fingering/DK weight.  It’s wet, but as soon as I get it skeined I’ll try and get you guys a picture, if you’re interested.

Blue-green handspun yarn

What I’m working on now is hand-dyed fiber gifted to me by Becca of A Song to Spin.  This stuff is gorgeous, and I love the way it’s spinning up.  It’s shifting between bright blue and teal, with patches of white, and it’s just lovely.

I worked on the December Little Shawl last night, and I’ve been getting in a row or two on the Emily Shawlette every night.  I managed to place the leglines on the first Scottish Boxes sock, and am now working on the rest of the foot.

Work has been crazy, so unfortunately I haven’t been able to do any knitting (no downtime=no knitting).  The project is almost complete, and unless something dramatic happens, I expect next Friday to be my last day on the job.  It makes me sad, but at the same time, I’m ready to put my full energy into getting ready to move.

I’m still working on the post I mentioned last Friday, but it’s percolating slower than I expected.  If I don’t get to it next week, you’ll definitely see it in early August.

Jack and I have been doing a lot of purging in preparation for the move.  We’re going through our book collection, getting rid of books we have electronic copies of, things we haven’t re-read in a long time, and so forth – basically everything in our apartment has to pass the, “Would I move this across the country?” test.  On one hand, it’s kind of freeing to get rid of things we don’t need.  On the other, I keep running into stuff that I got from Isabel, or at her instigation, and I keep finding pictures of her, and so on – so it’s a huge emotional morass.  This morning, Jack found another box of CDs.  Most of the cases were empty, or with the wrong discs, and the discs we did find were frequently scratched, the cases were cracked, and so on.  I started going through the box, and it upset me so much, all out of proportion to what I was actually doing.  “I hate her,” I ranted to Jack.  Most of the time, I don’t.  Most of the time, it doesn’t bother me.  In that moment, though, what it reminded me of was how careless Isabel was with things – her own or anyone else’s – and it just seemed so emblematic of everything I came away with after that relationship.  Walking away from her, I felt damaged and misplaced.  Parts of myself that had been precious to me were scratched or even missing outright.  It has taken a lot of hard work to repair the damage and replace the missing pieces, and every time I find a new damaged area – even if it’s just a box of CDs – I resent having to do it again.

Next Monday is our anniversary.  It marks two years of freedom, two years of life without Isabel.  I’m happier than I’ve ever been, despite the scars and chipped corners.  And even if I have to occasionally buff out a scratch or add a new coat of paint, I’m still sound.

Tell me about your blessings, would you?  Or if you’re feeling particularly un-blessed right now, you can just tell me about your week and I’ll give you an e-hug.

~ by Amber on July 22, 2011.

6 Responses to “Friday Gauge Check: Blue Fiber Edition”

  1. I remember the House Purge we did when moving to VA. It was an Experience. 😛 Honestly, I’ve been feeling the “I really OUGHT to get rid of this…” bug but I have yet to get off my butt. Perhaps this weekend.

    Observation: A LOT of the crap I’m getting rid of, I am doing so for OTHER PEOPLE. It doesn’t even BELONG to me. But somehow I wound up being responsible for taking stuff to the thrift store/consignment shop/eBay because no one else wants to be bothered with it. I think the eventual organization of a yard sale will also probably fall to me. WTF?

    Still pondering what to do with the stuff that *is* mine. I have a lot of 80s and 90s toys that are cool and I still like but…they are just collecting dust in a box in the basement. I guess as long as I have a place to put them, I can procrastinate. ;P

  2. I think that there’s a lot to be said about things like that. You’ve every right to be angry when you feel like it. To hurt when you feel like it. Time may have passed, but you’re still healing. As you said, you’re better than you’ve ever been, you’re secure in your path and you’re with someone who values you. I’d be angry still if I were you too.

    And blessings? I have more than I think most of the time. For some reason I have this ability to attract wonderful and supportive friends.

  3. The yarn is coming out so pretty! I can’t wait to see it all finished and skeined up. ❤ I'm glad you love it.

    Blessed, well, we're still working on that one. *However*, my CA cosmetology exam is FINALLY on Tuesday. Pass that, I get my license on my way out the door, and I can finally go job hunting. I miss work so, so much. Hmm. I suppose it is a blessing to have a job you love. ^_^ And there's Chris. He doesn't get mad at me for not being able to chip in with rent (even though I do feel bad about it.).

    I miss you and Jack! Are you guys finally moving up North, and are you driving through CA to do so (I kid, I kid. I know you have critters and such to tote along. ;)? Well, there's always Sock Summit. ;D

    I'm 5.5 years out of my own tornado of abuse. Scars heal, though they do get a little irritated sometimes and force you to remember. That's when you step back, look around, and realize how much better off you are. 😀 -hugs-

    • Best of luck on your exam! There’s nothing quite so fulfilling as having a job you love.

      Yes! We’re moving up north, and yes, we’ll be coming through CA. We’re hoping to time it to spend at least a day in your area; we have several people that we want to touch base with, including you guys. 🙂

  4. *curls up on*

    Well, we’re in the process of packing up and moving out of our shithole apartment in anticipation of closing on and moving into an awesome house. That will be OURS. (well, technically my dad’s, but I think we can work on buying it from him eventually.) The only problem is that we have to be out of our apartment by the end of the month and we won’t be able to close on the house until early September.

    Sooooo the dog and I will probably be sleeping in the car, and she’ll be babysat by Aubrey while I’m at work, and Aub will be staying with the cats at the place of a couple friends of ours. I’d stay with them too, but they can’t have a dog in the house. :/

    I’m SO looking forward to it. -_-

    • *hugs*

      That sounds like a terrifying experience! At least it’s not winter, I suppose, in the “small blessings” department. Best of luck with landing your awesome house, and I’ll keep you in my prayers. Hopefully you’ll find someone who can take you and the dog in until that can happen. Have you looked into animal rescue in the area? Maybe they have a foster family who can take your pup for a few weeks?

Join in the discussion!

 
