Friday Gauge Check: Ennui Ate My Startitis Edition

Guys, I’m too tired to knit.  Okay, that’s not entirely fair – I’ve still knit a little bit every day, and I whipped up another pair of Merrymeeting Mitts for a charity fundraising event this weekend, but I almost went to sleep last night without knitting at all.  (When I made this horrifying realization, I promptly sat down and did several more increase rounds on the Codename: Wintergreen gloves.)  Yes, I’m knitting, so it’s not that bad, but I have exactly five projects on the needles right now and most of those are hibernating.  I’m working on one sock (the second Personal Footprint sock, which is the plainest of plain vanilla socks), one pair of fingerless gloves, two scarves (one is hibernating, the other might as well be, because I haven’t touched it in months), and the inherited blanket that’s really too hot to work on right now.  I want to start something else, but I haven’t hit the perfect storm of yarn, needles, and pattern enough to actually cast anything on…thus, the ennui is eating my startitis.

I have hope that I’ll be able to get past it this weekend – Cookie A’s Sock Innovation is sitting on the arm of my chair, and I picked up 2-at-a-Time Socks at the used bookstore tonight (SCORE), and I want to knit a pair of socks for myself.  Something lacy, I think, and I have some sock yarn that’s earmarked for me.  I also want to cast on a shawl, but I’m not quite sure what.  I’ve been looking at Romi Hill’s Seven Small Shawls, at Steven West’s Daybreak, and Becca showed me her Whippoorwill when she was in town.  I also have a queue full of shawls in varying weights and sizes, none of which actually match the yarn I have in my stash.  And then, obviously because this is me and my brain is a little odd, I saw a beautiful lace stitch in a stitch dictionary and thought, “Well, I designed my first hat… why not my first shawl?”

I can think of few ways in which this will end well.

Of course, I could always do a swatch and see how it turns out.

Okay, okay, you can stop laughing now.

Let’s see… I’ve been listening to a lot of podcasts at work, because 9 hours in a cubicle lends itself to that.  I listen to a bunch of knitting podcasts, and also Stuff You Should Know and Stuff You Missed In History Class, both of which are lots of fun.  I think next week I’m going to put an audiobook or two on my iPhone and give that a try.

I finished Friday Night Knitting Club, and it’s now neatly slotted in my head alongside Mira Grant’s Feed for a reason that would require massive spoilers of both books.

I also wrote and posted my FFEX fic, which (thank goodness) the recipient really enjoyed.  Once I got started, I liked what I wrote.  It’s totally unlike my usual (gen featuring the whole party? really?) but it was a lot of fun.

Tonight I also picked up some shorter shuttles, as the ones that came with my loom were long enough to be unwieldy, and I have some ideas on saving my current warp, since I was quite unhappy with how my original idea was weaving up.  TYF didn’t have any pick-up sticks in stock, so I’m probably going to be putting together a Knit Picks order over the weekend.  I need a good fingering-weight brown for the Skull Isle hat, and they have these gorgeous new sock yarn colorways, and I’m looking at those brass stitch markers.

Last night, I had kind of a breakdown.  I don’t want to get into details, but I’ll say this: recovery is hard, because abuse affects every facet of your life, whether you realize it or not.  Every time you think you’ve faced it all, you’ll find yourself in a situation where you find a wound you didn’t realize was there.  And you know what?  That’s okay.  It’s okay to admit, “I’m still damaged,” and it’s okay to tell someone to stop when you find a new place that’s hurt.

Goals for next week:

– Post on a day that’s not Friday!  If any of you have anything you’d like to see me talk about, let me know.  This can be pretty much anything.  Leave a comment below or, if you’d like privacy, you can send an email to rippingback at gmail dot com and you’ll get me.  I have no problems with changing names to protect the innocent – or the guilty – and I absolutely would not repeat anything that you don’t want me to repeat.

– Cast something on.  SOMETHING.

– Pick the loom back up.  I love weaving, and it’s made me very sad not to do it while I let my subconscious address my warp color issue.

– Order a pick-up stick.

And that’s plenty for one week.  The comments are yours, for goals or your own gauge checks or asking questions or whatever.

~ by Amber on May 13, 2011.

Join in the discussion!

 
