I am SO EXCITED.

I have the best fiance ever.  I keep coming back to this, that if I had to live through the various hurricanes in my life in order to deserve Jack, it was worth it.

I was putting together a Knit Picks order, picking up a size 2 Harmony needle, a copy of Stitch ‘N Bitch: Superstar Knitting, the yarn for his Louis Voitton socks (Stroll in Ash and Black), the yarn for my Mystery Fingerless Gloves knit (Palette in Mist and Ivy for Slytherin goodness), and the Squeaky Clean Kitchen Kit so I could try out CotLin.  The last time I put in an order with them, I paid for it with my card.  This time, he offered to pay for it with his card, so he logged into the site and placed the order himself.  He snuck in an extra skein of yarn for me (Stroll Handpainted in Make Believe) and, apparently, my birthday present.

He bought me a loom, guys.

A 16″ Kromski Fiddle rigid heddle.

Our schedule shifted so that I could take the Rigid Heddle class this month at TYF, and I’ll be taking it with my very own loom.  Best. Birthday present. EVER.

Knitting stuff:  I’m working on the leg of his Personal Footprint sock, I’m testing a sock pattern for someone and I have that cast on and most of the toe increases done (I’m waiting for an answer for a part of the pattern that’s unclear before I can continue), I’m knitting a bandanna so Jack doesn’t set his hair on fire in welding class, and my blocked hat looks fantastic.  I wore it yesterday and today, and it’s totally thrilling to wear something new that you’ve made yourself.  I really ought to go out while it’s still light out and take a picture.  Hang on, I’ll be right back.

There!  That’s the Spiral Lace Beret, designed and knit by me.My spiral lace beret

Would anybody be interested in knitting this?  I’m thinking about putting together the pattern and putting it up on Ravelry, but I need test knitters.  It’s a very simple knit (obviously, since it’s my first hat), but if you can do yarnovers and k2togs, you’re all set.

I should probably re-knit it with some yarn that I actually know the provenance of before I do put it up on Ravelry.  According to my WPI tool, it’s a worsted weight single, so it’d probably look good in Malabrigo Merino Worsted.  You know, if you’re the kind of person who obsessively knits in Malabrigo.  Or somebody who likes hats.

In the meantime, I’m going to go put my loom together.  LOOOOOOOM.

~ by Amber on April 13, 2011.

2 Responses to “I am SO EXCITED.”

  1. Yaaaaay! That is so awesome! I’m happy for you. 8)

    The hat is beautiful, and how cool to make your own pattern! 8D

    I know how to k2tog, and I think I remember how to do a proper yarn over (I haven’t knitted in like almost 2 years, I realized), and I’d be happy to test knit for you (particularly if I can find something in my stash that would work). I could probably cast on the first week in May, as school is wrapping up.

  2. YAY LOOM! (I’m three days late to the party. :D) How exciting! ❤

Join in the discussion!

 
