Friday Gauge Check: Ripping Out the Needles

Ribbed sock #2My gauge this week is totally off.  I went from an incredible high to a rock-bottom low, and I’m still recovering.  I had an interview for a job I was interested in, at a company I wanted to work for, and I thought it went really well.  I was supposed to get a call back yesterday evening, and… there’s been nothing.  I assume I didn’t get it.

I know I’ve complained about my job search before, and I don’t want to bore you guys with yet another rant about how I hate the entire process, and how badly it emphasizes how much introverts, people who are not skilled at sales, and women are discriminated against.  I hate how there’s no feedback, no way of finding out what I did or did not do or say, and I find myself turning over every sentence looking for the wrong one, and there’s just no way of knowing.

I’ll talk about knitting instead, because it’s something I can control.

I did a lot this week!  I cast on the second Wintergreen Glove.  I’ve almost gotten to the heel turn on the Personal Footprint sock.  I worked on the grey scarf.  I taught Jack how to cast on and how to knit in the round.  I made progress.  But that’s not what I’m excited about.

Do you know what I did this week?

Yes, the picture is a hint.

For those of you who may not know (or remember), the ribbed sock was actually my second sock project.  It’s knit in Universal Yarns’ Poem Sock, a light fingering wool/nylon blend, in a variegated grey colorway.  It’s a 3X1 rib, and is on aluminum DPNs.  Aluminum, because the bamboo I started out on got way too slow.  DPNs, because I started it before I learned how to do Magic Loop (Or toe-up. Or two-at-a-time. That was my THIRD sock project.)  I FINISHED the first sock, got all the way down the leg on the second sock, and then… failed a lot.  I kept dropping stitches, for one thing, and I somehow managed to screw up the heel turn in a way that made it totally lopsided (don’t attempt heel turns while roleplaying).  I ripped it back and tried to fix it, but ran into the stitch-dropping problem again.  Plus the colorway was boring and the pattern was even more boring, but it took enough attention that I couldn’t just totally autopilot it.  Eventually I got fed up enough with it that I banished it to the scraps bin to think about what it had done, and there it sat.  And sat.  And sat.  I’ve knit two (and a quarter) more pairs of socks, plus a multitude of other things (mostly fingerless gloves!) while it’s been sulking in the bin.

On Monday, I started thinking about it, off and on.  On Tuesday, the thoughts got louder and stronger.  So by Wednesday, I crawled under my desk and rescued it, and our relationship is much more harmonious this time.

I looked at the failed second attempt on the heel and the dropped stitches, yanked the needles out, and ripped the heel back.  I reset the needles, I re-knit the heel flap, successfully turned the heel, and I’m working on the instep stitches.  It’s going along smoothly.  I’m a much more confident knitter, and it knows that I won’t hesitate to drop it back in the bin if it gives me any more guff.

I suppose, then, if this gauge check has a moral, it’s, “Take charge of the things you can.  Let everything else go.”  Worrying about the interview and brooding about the job market won’t accomplish anything.  I don’t have any control over it.  This sock, however, I can knit.  And that’s enough for now.

How about you guys?  How was your week?

~ by Amber on April 9, 2011.

One Response to “Friday Gauge Check: Ripping Out the Needles”

  1. […] that I thought went well, but I didn’t hear anything back from.  I talked about it in my Ripping Out the Needles gauge check.  It was actually a two-interview process, one with a recruiter in north Scottsdale […]

Join in the discussion!

 
