Friday Gauge Check: April 2nd Edition

Blue Merrymeeting Gloves in progress

Working on the Merrymeeting Gloves

Mostly I avoid the internet on April 1st!  I will use that as my excuse for not doing a Gauge Check yesterday, though I had been planning to do so and then I… didn’t. Sorry, guys.

One of the reasons I do this gauge check is that I look back at the week and wonder what I did with myself.  I really didn’t hit any of my goals, except the first one.  I called one of the temp agencies, and they told me that they wouldn’t place me in a position that required experience because I didn’t have experience in the last two years, and they didn’t have any entry-level positions available. Entry level?  I didn’t realize experience had an expiration date.  Of course, that came on the heels of not being able to get an entry-level job because I was too experienced.  Welcome to the Catch-22 of the job market, population: me.

So I’m back to emailing resumes into the abyss and hoping for a response, and wondering if I should drop older positions off my resume so I look less experienced.

I did do a lot of cleaning.  I did the laundry, and it was a nice enough day that I sat outside and knitted while I was waiting.  It’s warm enough that I’m going to try the sourdough starter again; hopefully I’ll have better luck with it this time.

It’s warm enough that we gave in yesterday and turned the air on.  We’d been resisting – it’s only March! we told each other, but yesterday it both became April and the ice broke on the Salt River – it hit 100 degrees for the first time this year.

In knitting-related activities, I heard back from my auction winner, and she picked yarn for her fingerless gloves.  It took me less than two days, start to finish, which is a new personal record for me.  I still love the pattern (Robyn Devine’s Merrymeeting Mitts) and would knit it again, although I’m thinking about what alterations would look like – a cable on the cuff or up the wrist, for example.

I did go to my knitting group this week, so I managed to get out and be social. I worked on Jack’s grey scarf, and everybody raved about the yarn (which is gorgeous).

I also cast on and worked up the toes for a new sock, using Cat Bordhi’s Personal Footprints for Insouciant Sock Knitters.  I decided to stop being intimidated and cast on the Arroyo Shawl, knit about five rows, and kept coming up with the wrong number of stitches, so I ripped it all back.  I’m going to try the variant long-tail cast on with two ends of a ball of yarn so I don’t have to figure out how long the tail has to be and try again.

I didn’t finish the first Wintergreen Glove, but I finished the hand and I’m working on the top cuff.  What I decided to do was a small repeat of the cable pattern in the cuff, which took a little bit of rewriting, since I didn’t have nearly the same number of stitches.  I ended up with eight stitches more than two repeats of the cable sequence, so I incorporated the extra stitches, four in one repeat and four in the other.  It’s looking pretty good.  I’ll post pictures when I’m finished.

I probably could have finished it last night, but I was gaming, and the stitch counts are too complicated to keep track of while I’m trying to do something else.  Instead I got the fifteenth pattern repeat done on the Argyle State Scarf.

I think I’m going to let next week take care of itself.

How’s everyone else?

 

 

~ by Amber on April 2, 2011.

Join in the discussion!

 
