Progress Shot

I have four projects actively on the needles right now:

– The brown/grey scarf for Jack in Poems Silk and Universal Classic Shades.  This is my purse knitting at the moment, although it’s getting really close to being too big to carry around.  It’s at least nearly too big for a small purse.

– A pair of socks in Premier Yarns Serenity Garden, in the Gems colorway, for Jack’s niece’s upcoming birthday.  They have butterflies on them and are the most adorable things ever.  I’m doing them cuff-down two-at-a-time, and I feel like toe-up two-at-a-time goes faster, even though that doesn’t make any sense.

– The first of the Celtic Moonrise mittens for Cendri’s mom.  This is the bamboo yarn that made me want to tear my hair out, but I’m almost done with the third pattern repeat and I’ve at least gotten used to it.  The cabling, now that I’m using a plastic yarn needle that doesn’t slide out of the stitches, is actually fun.  The chart, however, makes my eyes cross.

– The first of my Codename: Wintergreen mitts.  I have the cuff done.  I haven’t actually touched this in a couple of days, because I still haven’t decided whether I want to carry the cabling up the hand or not.

I keep telling myself that four active (and two inactive) projects is ENOUGH and I don’t need to cast on any more.  But there’s this stranded colorwork hat with skulls on?  And this scarf?  And another pair of socks? And a cardigan?  And… well, there’s always an and, isn’t there?

The Argyle State University scarf and the Inherited Leaf Blanket are sitting next to my chair, taking a nap.  I know, the nap can’t be very long.  But that birthday is coming up REALLY SOON.  Dear relatives, if you’re going to hint that I knit a pair of socks, I would very much like MORE THAN TWO WEEKS’ WARNING. If you didn’t actually mean to hint that you wanted me to knit a pair of socks, WHY DID YOU MENTION A KNITTED GARMET IN MY PRESENCE?  Please don’t do that either.  Thank you.

I’m still spinning the last of the red merino.  I think there’s a small part of me that just doesn’t want to be done with this gorgeous colorway, since there is no more.  There’s still orange merino left, but it isn’t red.

I wrote some fiction!  I’m actively working on fiction in two different original universes.  Jack and I (mostly Jack) are also working on the world bible for Lost the Sky, including a timeline and a character list.  I swear the world gets more complex every time I turn my back on it.  Current project: naming all the sub-plots/historical areas.

I also got a presser foot for Bettina, so theoretically I can start to make progress in the sewing arena.  Somehow I don’t have enough hours in my day.

What I don’t need?  Is this sharp pain in my wrist.  Dear body, cut that out right now.  Thank you.

Anybody working on anything fun?

~ by Amber on March 10, 2011.

Join in the discussion!

 
