Friday Gauge Check: Insomnia Edition

Yes, it’s nearly 3 in the morning, and I’m working on this instead of sleeping. Yes, I still have to take Jack to class in a few hours. I will pretend that this is dedication instead of insomnia.

This week has seen the start of a lot of things that have been in a holding pattern, and perhaps that’s why I feel like I’ve accomplished something for the first time in a long time.

I ordered the missing part for Bettina, and I should have that next week. I ordered and received the new spindle, and got some spinning done. I got my yarn order, and started a mitten commission. I have the cuff completed on a pair of fingerless gloves for me, I finished the first ball and started the second on Jack’s scarf, I did a repeat and a half on the Argyle State scarf. This will make post #4, and while I didn’t write any of the hibernating posts, I did do some emotional processing and talked about knitting stuff probably more than anyone really cares to hear about.

Wednesday I was really stressed and anxious, so Jack told me to not do anything I didn’t enjoy on Thursday. Somehow, this led to me cleaning the kitchen. I started a sourdough starter (that sounds funny), which of course meant that I spilled flour all over the place, and I decided I would enjoy having a clean kitchen more than I would enjoy putting it off until later. There’s something satisfying and productive about cleaning a space, even if it’s just unloading and reloading the dishwasher and wiping down cabinets. Today I fed the starter, and it’s already starting to get bubbly, which is good. It helps that it’s warmed up; I’d been thinking about starting it for a few weeks now, but it hasn’t been warm enough in our apartment to keep the appropriate bacteria alive – at least, not according to my sources.

Another thing I enjoyed was working on the cuff of my fingerless gloves. I don’t knit for myself nearly often enough, so it was satisfying not only making something for myself, but something I had chosen, and using a pattern that I think is both lovely and challenging but not frustrating. (The cuff has nine separate cable twists and an interesting stitch pattern even in the plain rows.) In contrast, the hand is plain stockinette, and I’m trying to decide whether to carry a couple of cables up the hand or just leave it plain. That’s why I didn’t work on it today.

I bought some sock yarn for myself today, and a plastic yarn needle that I hope will solve my cabling woes on the commission mittens. I also picked up a couple of little things for what will become my “steampunk chatelaine.” A chatelaine, if you didn’t know, was a cluster of tools, generally worn on the belt, for ladies. It has a medieval origin; it was the cluster of keys worn by the lady of the manor. By the Victorian era, it generally was comprised of such useful little tools as a thimble, a pair of scissors, a pincushion, a needle case, a notebook, and so on. The sorts of things a Victorian lady would need to have near to hand when she was working. Mine will have things on it like a multitool, a yarn cutter, and a flashlight. I have a couple of different ideas for different styles as well, for various characters/settings. Chatelaines tend to be expensive, and steampunk chatelaines seem to be primarily decorative, so developing one that is actually functional will be fun.

Next week, I want to work on a costume design to go with my chatelaine, hopefully bake a loaf of sourdough bread, make significant progress on the mittens (or at least troubleshoot to the point where I can), make significant progress on one of my other projects, cast on a pair of socks, and keep up my posting schedule. Phew! I’ll be plenty busy next week!

Check your own gauge, speculate on my sanity, discuss work through history, contemplate underutilized steampunk accessories, or have a party in the comments.

~ by Amber on March 5, 2011.

One Response to “Friday Gauge Check: Insomnia Edition”

  1. I clean a lot when upset or bothered or insomnia kicks in. I agree, it’s actually very satisfying. I’m glad you’re doing stuff for yourself. I think everyone could use a little more of it.

Join in the discussion!

 
