Friday Gauge Check: Still Slogging Along

I really feel like I’m not making any progress, despite the fact that I’ve finished things!

My first handspun

My first handspun!

Here, for example, is my first skein of handspun.  I plied this on Monday, and I spun more of the red on the drop spindle yesterday.

I finished the Simplicity Socks and a pair of fingerless gloves for Jack, and started knitting a scarf.  I like the pattern for the crochet scarf I was working on last week, but it’s really complicated and I kept having to rip it back, and the halo on the yarn I’m using… doesn’t like being ripped back, and I’m afraid I’m going to damage it, so less complicated knitted scarf it is.  I’m really enjoying the pattern, which is an interesting and addictive four-row repeat.  I’m up to twelve pattern repeats on the Argyle State University scarf, which is nearly halfway done!  (Woo!)

Despite this, despite the writing I’ve been doing, despite the fact that I made gnocci and marinara from scratch, did laundry, the reading I’ve done, despite all of the things I can point to and say, “Yes, I did that this week!” I just can’t get past the feeling that I haven’t accomplished much.  I’m not sure what the root cause of it is; figuring this out is going on my goal list for next week.

Maybe some of it is rooted in the fact that I haven’t met all my goals, and so I feel like I haven’t done what I was “supposed” to do, even if I’ve done other, equally valuable things.  I feel bad that I’m not posting here very often, but I’m at a point where the processing I’m doing is slower and more complicated and less verbal.  But, if you guys have topics you’d like me to talk about, or questions, or anything, please leave me a comment or drop me an email at rippingback at gmail dot com.

So for this week’s goals, I’m going to try something new.  I don’t like the idea of dropping the goals entirely, because I like marking my progress in some way.  So my goals!  They will be vague.

Vague goal #1:  Make something.  With yarn!

Vague goal #2:  Read something.  Maybe one or more of these magazines I picked up from Borders, or one or more of my pile of library books.

Vague goal #3:  Start a new project.  This goal is less vague, because I know what I need to start, I’m just waiting for the needles to arrive.

Vague goal #4:  Finish one of those partially-complete posts sitting in the queue.  Because they’re there, and I’m sure at least one or two people would like to read them.

That’s about all I have for this week.  Have a picture of my spindle.

My drop spindle

~ by Amber on February 26, 2011.

Join in the discussion!

 
