Second Sock Syndrome? How about Third Glove Syndrome?

So I’ve been working on a pair of fingerless gloves for a friend of mine, a sized-down version of the Beer Gloves from Son of Stitch-N-Bitch. I got through the first one with some difficulty, but I must have leveled up as a knitter, because the second one was much easier and MUCH faster. I got to the point where I was thinking that I would have to start the fingers soon, and so I put the glove away until I got home, so I could compare it to the first one and make sure they matched.

Trouble is, I can’t find the first one. Like, at all. Anywhere in my apartment.

This is not the first time I’ve temporarily misplaced the first half of a pair of something, but every other time it’s been exactly that: temporary. Once I turned over the top layer of things on my dining room table, or sorted through the mail pile, or looked in the penultimate bag I was carrying (I may have a bag problem), I found it. This one, however, is remaining stubbornly lost. And she’s coming to visit TOMORROW, and I wanted to have the gloves done to give to her.

Can you see my knitterly distress?

Fortunately, I have plenty of yarn left, so re-making the left-hand glove shouldn’t be a problem, and I’m sure it will look better than the first attempt – but it fills me with mild anguish, at least.

Another lesson I apparently failed at learning is, don’t knit things that require thought while you’re doing something else. Like, say, turning a heel during a roleplaying session. So yesterday afternoon I ripped most of it out and then put it back the right way. It’s no longer lopsided! Amazing how things look much better when you do them RIGHT.

I did a lot of frantic Christmas knitting, but I’m very fortunate in having recipients who were all AWED AND IMPRESSED by their gifts. I still have two Super Sekrit Projects I need to finish, though. One is just a matter of crocheting the last couple of pieces and assembling it (have I mentioned that I hate seaming? Because I do), and the other one apparently needs me to get my brain re-oriented or something, because I’ve attempted to start it three times and it still isn’t working right. I may have to find another pattern, because I’m just too dumb for this one, or something.

I’m feeling terribly unmotivated today, but I think it’s due to a lack of sleep more than anything else, and if I actually picked up anything I would probably be fine.

I’m going to go test that theory.

~ by Amber on January 5, 2011.

Join in the discussion!

 
