Friday: The Gauge Check

Gradually I’m going to put up the posts that led to the creation of this blog; I’m thinking of having a regular schedule, once or twice a week, but maybe I’ll just stick them up on days that I don’t have anything else to say.  I suppose we’ll see how it goes.

In my commitment to emotional honesty, one of the ways I decided to reject the culture of okay was to talk, publicly and regularly, about how I was doing.  I also read the wonderful and motivating The Fluent Self, and she makes a Friday tradition of talking about her week and how she’s doing, called the Friday Chicken.  I loved the idea, and shamelessly stole it started joining in with my own post, and encouraging my readers to do the same.  I’m going to continue with the idea (because traditions are important, and because this talking about stuff is grand) but I’m changing the name, to make it thematically appropriate for my own blog.

The Friday Gauge Check

When you start knitting something, the first thing you’re supposed to do is take the needles and the yarn and knit a square to make sure you’re getting the right number of stitches per inch when you knit it.  That way, it’ll do exciting things like fit when you finish.  If you’re working on a larger project (like a sweater), it’s a good idea to occasionally check and make sure you’re still knitting to gauge.  So consider this a weekly check to make sure I’m still creating my life the way I want to.

Physically:  The Incredibly Sneaky Illness

I’m interning at an agency that works with mostly foster kids.  I got up on time this morning, got ready, caught the bus.  It rained most of yesterday, and it’s still cloudy and cold, so I bundled up (the Arizona version of bundling up, anyway, which involves wearing a coat over my sweater and a pair of fingerless gloves).  Waiting for the bus, it was chilly but not bad.  On the bus, the heat was on, and I started overheating right away, and feeling…not so good.  Took off my gloves and coat, and it didn’t really help.  I started feeling nauseated, and it just got worse.  I was violently ill after I got off the bus, and it didn’t help.  Usually the act of being sick reduces the level of sick!  Not this time.  My stomach was hurting, and I sat down on the bench where I’d gotten off the bus to see if it would improve.  It didn’t, so when I saw the bus coming the other direction, I hobbled down to the stop and caught it.  Getting home was miserable.  I’ve since curled up in bed, gotten a little knitting done, finished my book, and I’m feeling better enough to sit up and type this post.  I’m really hoping that it goes as quickly as it came, because this time of year, I don’t have the time to be sick. Also my roleplaying group is meeting tonight, and I’ll be incredibly disappointed if I can’t go.

Mentally: Somewhere Between Excited and Afraid

Like I said yesterday, I’ve been thinking about starting a blog for a while, but I hadn’t found the right inspiration until now.  I’m really excited about this concept, and getting started, and sharing.  I know I’ve helped my friends, who were reading me up until this point.  Taking it out into the wider world, sharing with people I don’t know, it’s exciting.  Also, a little scary, because I do read enough other bloggers to know that strangers leaving nasty comments isn’t uncommon.  I don’t think I’m the type of girl to fall apart at the first critical word, but I’m still nervous about getting them.  But I’m a big believer in feel the fear and do it anyway, (this is my personal definition of courage) and nobody ever grows by avoiding the things that scare them.

This last week has been incredibly productive, full of completion.  I took a final, knit my first cowl (the lovely and incredibly fast Dolores Park Cowl), started on a second one in a different yarn, finished a fingerless glove and cast on and worked the cuff of a second, and did a few rounds on a second sock I’m making.  I also had a couple of disastrous starts on a yarn that I swear is cursed, but I will tame it sooner or later.  I’m really not sure what I’m going to do about the Christmas present for this person, but I’m sure I’ll figure something out.  I still have almost a week before I see her.

Next Week

Is Christmas!  I have to get my Christmas knitting sorted out, and I’m leaving for Las Vegas either Thursday night or Friday morning, so next week’s Gauge Check will be on the road.  I’m meeting my mother, my aunt, and my best friend from high school up there, and we’re going to have an absolute blast.  I love spending time with that part of my family.  I mentioned to Mom that I’d made her something, and she was very impressed.  She’s not a knitter herself, but she used to sew and do cross-stitch, so maybe I can corrupt interest her in my new hobby.  I wonder if there are any good yarn shops in Vegas….

And that’s me!  Ordinarily I’d put down some solid goals for the next week, but I think my next week is going to look like, “Try to get better, finish Christmas presents, travel.”  I’m going to play it by ear, and anything I get done will be bonus points.

Now it’s your turn.

How’s your week been?  What are your plans for next week, and what are you worried or excited about?

~ by Amber on December 17, 2010.

8 Responses to “Friday: The Gauge Check”

  1. I agree that you should take it easy on yourself this week. 😉

    I think I’ll try doing a Friday checkin on my blog.

  2. My Friday isn’t as good as I wish it was. I’m still super stressed out. I was looking forward to rp, but I don’t know if everyone is up for it, especially Xan, and I just…

    I don’t know.

    I need to really talk out the things that are going on and I don’t feel emotionally safe doing that without a mediator. 😐

  3. My aunt flew in from Vegas last night for the holidays, and she’s a knitter, so I’ll see if I can’t get you some store recs. Also, as long as you don’t get the urge to start gnawing on brains, this particular plague will probably pass with enough rest and liquids and all that. If you do get the urge to start gnawing on brains, I suggest you find a friendly Paladin. It won’t be pretty.

    This week was kinda surreal for me, because I got one of those massive nudges from the Universe about my spiritual life, and everything turned out fine as a result. I’m starting to notice a pattern where if I go with something right, I get almost immediate confirmation of the rightness of it, if that makes any sense. Reconnecting with my Dad (chosen, not blood), even if online, has helped a lot, and reminded me what a valuable teacher and friend he’s been in my life.

    • Yay store recs!

      I promise if I have any brain-gnawing urges, Georgia Mason knows what to do.

      Reconnecting with people and listening to the Universe are both very good things, and I’m glad to hear it. ^^

  4. I’m… okay. XD On the one hand, I’m still loving work and I just got back from a (quite surprisingly) enjoyable and relaxing 3-day trip to visit my parents, but I managed to get sick somewhere between florida and home, and I’m now sick of the taste of cough drops.

Join in the discussion!

 
